list of winners, NewJeans take the crown

list of winners, NewJeans take the crown

The Melon Music Awards 2023 took place yesterday, December in South Korea, at the Inspire Arena. The award show was organized by Melon (a music store and streaming service) and Kakao Entertainment. This ceremony awards the most popular and best-selling Kpop artists through a system that takes online sales, fan voting and opinion from experts into consideration.

Now these are the biggest facts: this year, the most nominated acts were NewJeans, IVE and aespa. These girl groups had 7 nominations each, showcasing the true star power of 4th generation Kpop groups.

The biggest winner of the night was NewJeans, getting 5 awards out of 7 they had been nominated for. Other winners include aespa, Jungkook of BTS and NCT Dream with 4 wins each, followed by IVE and SEVENTEEN with 3 awards each. Get the full list of winners here:

New Artist of the Year – RIIZE, ZEROBASEONE.
Best Solo (Male) – Jungkook.
Best Solo (Female) – Lee Youngji.
Music Video of the Year – STAYC – Bubble.
Stage of the Year – SHINee.
Best Group (Male) – NCT DREAM.
Best Group (Female) – NewJeans.
Hot Trend Award – Jungkook.
Best Performance (Male) – SEVENTEEN.
Best Performance (Female) – aespa.
Favorite Star Award – BTS.
Songwriter Award – Ryan Jhun.
Best Music Style – Silica Gel.
Best OST – Lim Jae Hyun – It Was Spring OST.
Best Pop Artist – Charlie Puth.
Global Rising Artist – BOYNEXTDOOR.
Global Artist – aespa.
Favorite J-Pop Artist – mase.
1theK Global Icon – KISS OF LIFE.

Millions Top 10 Artist – Lim Young Woong – “Do or Die”, Seventeen – “FML”, IVE – “I’ve IVE”, NCT Dream – “ISTJ”, NewJeans – “Get Up”, aespa – “My World”, (G)I-DLE – “I Feel”, BSS – “Second Wind”, BTS’ Jungkook – “Seven (feat. Latto)”, LE SSERAFIM – “Unforgiven.”